Resources for a Time of Personal Loss

Our Pastoral Care Team recommends the following resources for those who may be grieving:

 

Websites:

www.grief.com

www.thegrieftoolbox.com

 

Audio Resources:

The Grief Process: Meditations for Healing  by Stephen and Ondrea Levine
A Buddhist approach to grief

 

Book Resources:

On Grief & Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss by Kubler-Ross & Kessler
A classic work on grief

Good Grief by Granger E Westberg
A classic on grief -covers ten stages of grief (also available on audiobook)

A Grief Observed by CS Lewis
Another classic on grief- covers questions of grief and faith (also available on audiobook)

Grieving Mindfully: A Compassionate & Spiritual Guide to Coping with Loss by Sameet Kumar
A great book on creating space to listening to what our grief is telling/teaching us

Lament for a Son by Nicholas Wolterstorff
In the vein of Henri Nouwen or Walter Wangerin, an honest, journal entry style of book that chronicles a parent’s loss, and how God fits into this.

Visions, Trips, and Crowded Rooms by David Kessler
A book by an authority on grief (aided Elizabeth Kubler-Ross in her dying) that looks at mysteries surrounding death

Tear Soup: A Recipe for Healing After Loss by Pat Schwiebert
While a children’s book, full of a great deal of wisdom on loss and life even if you are an adult

Beyond Forgetting: Poetry and Prose about Alzheimer’s Disease, edited by Holly Hughes
Recommended by a parishioner who has cared for a loved one with Alzheimer’s

 

 

 

 

Movies:

Lars and the Real Girl
We Bought a Zoo
Departures
Moonlight Mile
Up

Note that we have provided above links to retail sites for reference only, not as an endorsement of any particular media retailer.